A brief crossing of paths!

What an amazing day!

Not only did I have a great afternoon with some friends, but it all culminated in meeting Rick Springfield!

Here’s how it all played out:

We got to The Good Life Festival at Encanterra and decided to purchase the wine and beer tasting passport – which meant you walked around with a wine glass strung around your neck and got up to eight “tastings.” I was hesitant to get it at first because it was $25 and I’m kind of a lightweight nowadays so I didn’t think I’d drink that much. But in the end, it was totally worth it!

So I went with my best friend from junior high/high school – this was our fourth RS concert together over a 30-year period – and we met up with another friend from high school and two of her friends and had a great time catching up and hanging out. I got my picture taken with a cardboard cutout of Rick Springfield at the 94.5 Kool FM booth and we all entered the radio station’s contest to win a meet and greet with him after the concert.

We watched Howard Jones from our seats in Row 30, which was nice, then went back to the festival part to get another round of drinks and to visit the radio station booth for the meet-and-greet drawing. None of us won.

When we went back to our seats in Row 17 (did you notice that transition? – maybe the former occupants were Howard Jones fans but whatever the case, the seats were empty). Needless to say, it was a great show and I’m sure RS was looking right at me during the first few songs when he was wearing his sunglasses. (Just like he was looking right at me when I was 13 and I was looking at him through binoculars from however far back my seats were. Because, as any fan knows, that’s just the way it happens.)

Of course I was anxiously awaiting “Human Touch” to see if he would make it out to Row 17. He didn’t make it that far – he stopped a few rows in front of us – but with the zoom on, I got a nice video:

The show went pretty quickly. Maybe because he was the headliner of an all-day festival it was shorter than usual or maybe because I wanted to hear more songs, I don’t know. But I wasn’t ready to go yet.

I told my friend that we couldn’t go yet and because she’s a great friend and knows the depth and longevity of my RS infatuation, she went along with it – and encouraged it. Instead of going left and away from the stage, we went to the right and to the side of the stage and stood with people waiting to go backstage.

Before I continue, let me just say that by nature, I am a compulsive rule-follower. I usually try to do the right thing and play by the rules. But then sometimes there are those once-in-a-lifetime opportunities that come up that I don’t want to later regret missing. Plus (at the risk of offending those that pay big money for a meet-and-greet), I wasn’t hurting anyone by joining the line and wasn’t causing anyone else to miss out.

Anyway, remember that wine-tasting passport I mentioned? Well, the lanyard was similar to the one on the backstage passes and it was dark.

I mentioned in previous posts that March 7 would have been my mom’s 70th birthday. When we used to go to plays or concerts, my mom liked to stay afterward and meet the performers to get their autograph. She was one to try to make the most of opportunities and I knew she’d be rooting for me – perhaps she was even the one to arrange it from up above.

So I joined the line and walked backstage and there he was!

We were told that we couldn’t take a photo with him using our own camera but one would be taken by a photographer and posted on the radio station website.

The first thing I noticed was his incredible eyes. He looked a little tired and there was so much I wanted to say but I just handed him a folded piece of paper with this blog address on it and said, “This is for you.” He said, “thank you” and took the piece of paper. Then the photographer took our picture and it was time to move on.

March 7, 2015

March 7, 2015

I don’t even remember having the picture taken but there it is online, and he is holding the little piece of paper. Whether or not he will read it or this blog, I suppose I will never know, but if he does, I just wanted to say thank you for all the years of great music and inspiration! XO

4 thoughts on “A brief crossing of paths!

  1. I am sure he has had many a twinkly eyed lady give him a slip of paper with their phone number, email, hotel room number on it …. but in this situation I sure how if RS is as wonderful as you feel he is he would be wise to check out your blog, and contact you. And not for nooky. Hey just think LW writing songs for/w RS or a hired blog writer for him 🙂

    Like

  2. Even though I have been one of those high paying meet & greet people I would have done the same thing as you did to get backstage. As would most people (who’ve paid), they just won’t admit it.

    As for your note to him, yes he read it. I was told before my first sound check meet & greet to write him a note/letter with things I’d want to tell him because A) you usually forget something and B) there’s never enough time. This was advice from a few “old timers” who had been following him since 1999 and they said he always reads the letters. And I believe it. No doubt he was tired, seems he’s going in so many different directions lately.

    Great photo & blog 🙂
    Deb

    Like

Leave a Reply

