Almost a week after the concert

I can’t believe it’s been a week since I wrote my “This time tomorrow” post. The week sped by.

The day after the concert I spent the morning volunteering at a carnival at my youngest son’s school then was outside all afternoon at a park for a birthday party for another son’s classmate.

By the time I got home I was exhausted and had to rest for awhile (a nap in the middle of the day is a rare but welcome indulgence for me). When I woke up, I had a 102-degree temperature and ended up home sick for three days. My husband prepared meals, did the drop-offs and pick-ups and put the kids to bed. I made some appearances but wasn’t much help through Tuesday night.

Since Monday and Tuesday are our busy days at work, I did spend some time on the computer finishing whatever writing and editing needed to be done for this week’s issue. I figured that if RS could keep his commitment to his East Coast tour schedule, traveling in freezing temperatures with a raging cold and performing multiple stellar concerts (even if it meant swigging cough medicine between songs), making appearances at meet-and-greets (which included more performing) and conducting interviews, I could certainly manage to drag myself out of bed to sit at the computer, sipping tea in my pajamas, to help meet our paper’s deadline. So I did – in spurts, heading back under the covers when I got the chills.

By Wednesday I was feeling much better but worked from home since I still had a fever and a sore throat. I returned back to the office and a normal routine yesterday. So Friday really came quickly this week.

Believe it or not, I have plenty more to write about my 20-second meet-and-greet with RS, but for now I have lots of catching up to do around the house from this lost week so I’ll have to write about it later. For those who are about to see your RS show this weekend – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

