Things to know before seeing ‘Ricki and the Flash’

Rick Springfield

Actor Rick Springfield poses for photographers to promote his upcoming film “Ricki and the Flash” at the Summer of Sony photo call in Cancun, Tuesday, June 16, 2015. (AP Photo/Christian Palma)

I attended an advance screening of “Ricki and the Flash” tonight (not THE premiere in New York, but one in Phoenix). I was already a big fan of Meryl Streep, Kevin Kline and Rick Springfield (obviously the last one) and the mix of all three of them together – along with a storyline of music and family comedy-drama, I knew I would like it even before walking into the theater (or, to be more precise: before checking in my cell phone and getting wanded before walking into the theater; no photographing allowed during the movie – duh – sad that adults just can’t be trusted to not film a movie in a theater).

I don’t want to spoil the movie for anyone, so I won’t go into any details about the actual film but here are a few things that I knew about it beforehand that deepened my appreciation of it:

1. Meryl Streep learned guitar for the movie. I really admire the way she jumps into her roles and learns new skills for her films.

2. RS plays the guitar – a Gibson SG- that he wrote “Jessie’s Girl” on. The script called for one and he had one so he played his own. Serendipity!

3. The musical scenes were shot live and not dubbed over to fix any mistakes so they were actually how they were played during the initial filming. (It all sounded pretty flawless to me anyhow.)

What I wish I would have known before the movie – bring tissues. I realize I may be oversensitive – I used to tear up at Hallmark commercials back in the day when you couldn’t fast-forward past commercials – but it was kind of an emotional movie for me, lots of tears. All the family drama, regret, unfulfilled dreams, failed relationships. Plus tears of joy, too, with the happy moments in the film, as well as being thrilled that RS had such a great role!

During the opening credits, somebody next to me commented when RS’s name came on the screen, “Rick Springfield is in this?!” which I just found hilarious considering how much I’ve been hearing about the movie lately. Between this film and his recent role in “True Detective,” I hope that when his new album comes out in January (or whenever it finally comes out), it will get a great deal of positive recognition, too.

Oh, and this was a fun start to the “Ricki” week, too – a video Q&A with RS on a radio station’s Facebook page, with RS answering in video replies to fans’ questions.

One thought on “Things to know before seeing ‘Ricki and the Flash’

Leave a Reply

