Going to the fair, and bringing the boys

Got tickets today for the Rick Springfield concert at the Arizona State Fair. I sat at the computer with the cursor pointed over the “purchase tickets here” button and clicked as soon as the clock turned 10.

Got third row, the best seats ever!

I planned to go with my husband but after hearing my older sons singing RS songs around the house the past few days, we decided that it would be fun to also bring them. That’s the great thing about a concert at the fair – concert tickets are so pricey these days that I wouldn’t have considered buying tickets for them at a regular show (plus I wouldn’t be able to afford these seats at a regular show) so it’s a great opportunity to bring them to their first Rick Springfield concert. (Actually, it’ll be their first rock concert – they are 7 and 9).

If it was anybody else, I would have just gone with the “free with fair admission” option but, well, obviously, I had to go for the $20 reserved seats. (Did I mention it’s in the THIRD row?)  I’m really excited for my husband to see the show, too. He came with me to the Stripped Down show in Tucson earlier this year, but because he plays guitar and really enjoys hearing live music, I know he’ll have a blast at this one, too.

The funny thing is, before this show was announced, I had splurged a little for another show because I didn’t think he’d be coming back to Arizona for a third time this year. I bought tickets for the Vegas show and made arrangements to go with my cousin (who lives there). We always have a great time together and she remembers when my walls were covered with RS posters so I’m thrilled to bring her to her first RS show.

So about two days after I splurged on the concert tickets (not third row, but in the second section) and plane tickets, the free concert at the fair a few miles from my house was announced – the show is five days before the one in Vegas. That means two concerts in one week. Oh well, guess I will just have to live with that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

