My sons got to sing with Rick Springfield!

My older kids went to their first rock concert tonight and Rick Springfield has set the bar really high for future concerts.

When RS sings “Don’t Talk to Strangers,” he often brings kids on stage to sing. A few shows ago, a whole group of kids stood on the stage by the end of the song. This always seems so incredible to me because many of the kids’ moms were probably about that same age when they started listening to Rick Springfield!

Anyway, my boys have watched some of the videos of the kids on stage from recent concerts and we talked before the concert about the possibility of them getting to sing with RS. My 9-year-old had no hesitation about the idea of going on stage, my 7-year-old wasn’t  sure – he said he probably wouldn’t want to.  We even got them new cool Star Wars shirts for the occasion – one with a Stormtrooper playing guitar, and one with C3PO playing guitar.

So when RS started singing DTTS, my 9-year-old was singing along and trying to get RS’s attention (the 7-year-old, meanwhile was lying down on the chairs). And bless his heart, RS came over when he was in the audience, climbing on chairs, and let Z sing “Don’t Talk to Strangers” into the microphone. RS asked him to stand on a chair so he could see his shirt and commented on it – the crowd cheered and Z looked around and smiled proudly. RS was so sweet to them – he also asked J to stand up so he could see his shirt. He asked both of their names and ages and Z told him they were brothers. He also encouraged J to sing “Don’t talk to strangers” into the microphone and the audience cheered and applauded afterward – J had a big grin on his face.

We found out afterward that they were on the big screen and as we left the coliseum, several people commented to them that they did a great job and told them how lucky they were to sing with Rick Springfield. “Mommy, are we famous now?” Z asked on our way out. “Does Rick Springfield know me?” As we left the fair, he asked the guards at the exit if they were at the show and told them he got to sing with Rick Springfield and was on the big screen.

Thank you, RS, for giving them such an incredible experience! My husband didn’t want me to stalk you after the concert (something about needing to get the kids home to bed…) so I couldn’t thank you in person, but thank you (in case you happen to read this someday)!

And thanks to the two nice fans that sent me a photo and a video of RS with the kids.

It was fun to hear the boys’ comments during the show and to watch them sing along. Every time my 7-year-old recognized a song, he was so excited to tell me which one it was. They also collected rose petals for me each time RS did a petal explosion on stage and my husband scored a “Magnificent Vibration” guitar pick that RS threw out into the audience.

20151022_000806

Magnificent Vibration guitar pick – side one

When listening to RS CDs in the car, the kids often want to know what the songs are about. I had told them that he wrote “What Kind of Fool am I?” about his wife back when they were dating. So when RS sang “What Kind of Fool am I?” at the concert, Z asked me, “Why is he singing this now if he is married?” “Because people want to hear it.” “Oh,” he said. “But he doesn’t think that anymore, right?, because they are married now.”

20151022_000830

Magnificent Vibration guitar pick – side two: Alice (drawn by RS)

And, during the show, he told me that Springfield is a state. No, but it’s a city, I told him. “Is it named after Rick Springfield?” he asked.

When we got back home after the show, he wanted to continue the conversation about “What Kind of Fool am I?” “Why was she mad at him?” he asked; he sounded very concerned. “Was it because he wanted Jessie’s Girl?”

4 thoughts on “My sons got to sing with Rick Springfield!

Leave a Reply

