‘You Are Not Alone’

Last night I just finished a song I’ve been working on for the past few weeks. I started it after the recent terror attacks in Paris and Israel and unfortunately there have been many others around the world since then, including one in our own country earlier this week.

(As with past songs, please excuse the amateur recording – it’s the first song I’ve written on a keyboard and it was just recorded with a tape recorder – it’s the best of MANY attempts – at least this version has all the right words and notes and no dog barking or children screaming in the background).

Prayers for all of those going through a difficult time and for peace.

You Are Not Alone

You are in tomorrow
I’m still in today
You can’t feel my sorrow
You’re too far away

Although we may be strangers
I’m standing by your side
Grieving in your shadow
As you say your goodbyes

You are not alone
The world may seem so cold
If it brings you any solace, know
that you are not alone

In time a heart will heal
I know that’s not how you feel
I wish that I could take your pain away
Darkness on the evening news
Time stands still as the world resumes
Moving forward yet stalled in yesterday

You are not alone
Though you may be far from home
If it brings you any solace, know
that you are not alone

I hope the light shines down on you
to help you make it through
Bringing warmth into your world once again
Feel the love filling the air
Across the miles, to there from here
Reaching you whenever you need a friend

You are not alone
Although the future remains unknown
If it brings you any solace, know
that you are not alone

You are in tomorrow
I’m still in today
You can’t feel my sorrow
You’re too far away

Although we may be strangers
I’m standing by your side
Grieving in your shadow
As you say your goodbyes

You are not alone
The world may seem so cold
If it brings you any solace, know
that you are not alone.

© 2015 rscrush.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

