Even more Rocket Science details

Another late-night post after everyone else is sleeping…

Got to see some of tonight’s “Stripped Down” show in San Diego – thanks to those who shared on Periscope! The new “Jessie’s Girl/867-5309/Stacy’s Mom” mash-up is great (and I noticed a few seconds of “My Sharona,” too in tonight’s version). And there was a funny little message to the airlines, too, in a separate song.

The official Rick Springfield site, rickspringfield.com now has lots more details about “Rocket Science” so the RS recap can be a little more complete now:

Current recap on “Rocket Science”:

1. Light This Party Up: single released: described as “a song about redemption and how life sometimes feels like one long fall from grace.”

2. Down: single released: “A song about disillusionment and commitment” written with Rascal Flatts’ Jay DeMarcus while “traveling on DeMarcus’ tour bus to Atlanta, where the two were filming an episode of “Drop Dead Diva.”

“Jay came up with the title ‘Down’ and we were off to the races,” Springfield says. “By the time we were halfway to Nashville the melody and structure of the song were complete, as if by magic. I love it when that happens.”

(Side note: I watched the episode of “Drop Dead Diva” (mentioned above) a few months ago after finding out he was on it (“First Date” is the name of the episode from 2014). One of the actors was my high school class president so there’s my “two degrees” to RS, however tenuous that may be. I guess it’s really three degrees, since I didn’t know him personally but knew others who did. It’s a cute show, I watched the pilot afterward and have watched through the third season so far.)

3. That One:
“Who of us hasn’t had some heartless lover crap on us and our tender feelings?” he says. “This song hits home for me both as the protagonist and the victim. I have been both the crapee and the craper, I’m ashamed to admit.”

4. The Best Damn Thing: Still a mystery

5. Miss Mayhem: a “blues-infused rocker,” on which he collaborated with indie artist Tad Kubler of the band The Hold Steady.

“Ah, Miss Mayhem,” he says. “We have all met her or him at some point in our romantic past. A burning hot, amazing-in-bed, beautiful/handsome, whack-job!”

6. Pay It Forward: “Imbued with a sense of spirituality” and he mentioned at a “Stripped Down” Q&A that this is his favorite song on the CD.

7. Found: Still a mystery

8. Crowded Solitude: “Imbued with a sense of spirituality”

9. Let Me In: a “sensitive ballad” that was a bonus track on “Songs for the End of the World.”

10. All Hands on Deck: “anthemic”

11. We Connect: A few lyrics are in an article on MelodicRock.com.  One of three described as “imbued with a sense of spirituality.”

12. (I Wish I Had A) Concrete Heart: See this post from last week.

13. Earth to Angel: Still a mystery

Bonus track on MP3: Beautiful Inside: Still a mystery

And still no word on the “Walking In” song he played at a Stripped Down show earlier this year and said it was going to be on the new CD.

And here’s more from the article, that provides some insight on his writing process:

“I wanted the album to be very open and electric — rock and roll with some country elements, and always with great hooks,” he says. The lyrics largely address matters of the heart with the irreverence, wit, and dark humor that has always permeated his work. “The songs usually start with titles for me,” Springfield says. “A title will catch my eye and inspire a lyric. Both Matt and I are happily married, but there’s some heartache on this one. You can’t just write about how everything is all good and bore people out of their minds. When different emotions come up, I just go with that. I don’t set out to write about anything in particular. I just look for something that feels true and that I can hopefully say in an interesting way.”

(Another side note: I feel like I’m sounding a little bit obsessed about this new CD. But then I look at the long list of posts on this blog and realize that I passed that point long ago. But it’s all in good fun, right?)

2 thoughts on “Even more Rocket Science details

Leave a Reply

