RS: Miss Mayhem

Another song – “Miss Mayhem” – was just released.

On rickspringfield.com, RS talks about the song:

“Ah, Miss Mayhem,” he says. “We have all met her or him at some point in our romantic past. A burning hot, amazing-in-bed, beautiful/handsome, whack-job!” [UPDATE: Posted this afternoon on guitarplayer.com, a funny article about the song with more background from RS. Click here to enjoy it.]

The song starts with a barking dog and has a bluesy sound, yet also rocks in other parts of the song. The first time I listened to it, for some reason the image of the first part of Disneyland’s “Pirates of the Caribbean” ride popped into my head, when your boat passes the Blue Bayou Restaurant where it’s always evening and there’s a guy outside a shack playing the banjo. But that image was gone by the second listen.

Yea, another great song! (And the lyrics are great, too, RS humor shining through). The song is now available on amazon.com. Also on iTunes and Spotify.

(UPDATE: And now on YouTube, too:)

Oh, and in other fun February RS news: the Feb. 12 Nashville show will be streamed live via Yahoo Music here.

And on Sunday, RS posted a beautiful photo of his 95-year-old mom who came out to say goodbye at 4 a.m. as he was leaving her home in Australia to return to the U.S. So sweet. And since this has turned into a recap post, in a recent interview on examiner.com, RS says he’s in the rewrite process of the sequel to “Magnificent Vibration” but said he’s also doing other things so he guesses “it will be ready when it’s ready.” And plans are in the works for the “Rocket Science” tour. May I recommend Changing Hands in Phoenix for a CD signing?

UPDATE: Thanks to Jeff for sending the lyrics for “Miss Mayhem.” We’re not 100 percent certain on a couple of the lines so if you know differently, please let me know and I’ll update, thanks!

That girl has a gift
Like a social disease
If you catch my drift
She brought me to my knees
And like a wrecking hammer
She broke me down til I said please
oh yeah
Was it her plan of attack?
While she was raking my back
She left me hanging with my heart in the drain
Say a prayer for me
Winter is here in the month of July
It’s my misguided notion
As silent as a scream
There were no warning sign in her eyes
And I’m so pleased to meet you Miss Mayhem
I’m sleeping with a time bomb
She’s counting it down
I’m walking with a napalm
In an organdy gown
Into my private slammer
She locked me down and kept the key
Oh yeah
She is a woman in black
She is my panic attack
Came with a no money back guarantee
Say a prayer for me
Winter is here in the summer tonight
She’s freezing my emotion
As deadly as a scream
Swear I don’t see any fear in her eye
Thanks for introducing to Miss Mayhem
Trying to run while I’m shaking the dust off
Crying to you when I’m scraping the rust off
Lying to you while breaking the trust off
Won’t you please just say a prayer for me?
Winter is here in the month of July
It’s my misguided notion
As silent as a scream
There were no warning signs in her eyes
And I’m so pleased to meet you
Say a prayer for me
Winter is here in the summer tonight
Freezing my emotion
As deadly as a scream
Swear I don’t see any fear in her eyes
Thanks for introducing to Miss Mayhem.

5 thoughts on “RS: Miss Mayhem

  1. I came up with the lyrics so everyone can sing along!

    That girl has a gift
    Like a social disease
    If you catch my drift
    She brought me to my knees
    And like a wrecking hammer
    She broke me down til I said please
    oh yeah
    Was it her plan of attack?
    While she was raking my back
    She left me hanging with my heart in the breeze
    Say a prayer for me
    Winter is here in the month of July
    It’s my misguided notion
    As silent as a scream
    There were no warning sign in her eyes
    And I’m so pleased to meet you Miss Mayhem
    I’m sleeping with a time bomb
    She’s counting it down
    I’m walking with a napalm
    In an organdy gown
    Into my private slammer
    She locked me down and kept the key
    Oh yeah
    She is a woman in black
    She is my panic attack
    Came with a no money back guarantee
    Say a prayer for me
    Winter is here in the summer tonight
    She’s freezing my emotion
    As deadly as a scream
    Swear I don’t see any fear in her eye
    Thanks for introducing to Miss Mayhem
    Trying to run while I’m shaking the dust off
    Crying to you when I’m scraping the rust off
    Lying to you while breaking the trust off
    Won’t you please just say a prayer for me?
    Winter is here in the month of July
    It’s my misguided notion
    As silent as a scream
    There were no warning signs in her eyes
    And I’m so pleased to meet you
    Say a prayer for me
    Winter is here in the summer tonight
    Freezing my emotion
    As deadly as a scream
    Swear I don’t see any fear in her eyes
    Thanks for introducing to Miss Mayhem

    Liked by 1 person

      • I think that sounds better….I agree…I also think after countless times listening I think it’s “She left me hanging with my heart in debris” and “deadly as a snake”. What do you think?

        Like

      • I hear “she left me hanging with my heart in the brain,” but not sure that that makes sense!
        I still hear “deadly as a scream,” but not 100 percent about that either.

        Like

Leave a Reply

