Periscope concert footage

One of the coolest current inventions is the ability to “teleport” to a concert as it is happening. I’m not sure how the performers feel about it – I know I would hate to be filmed at work, but since that’s what they do regularly, I guess they are OK with it – but for a fan, it’s really cool to be able to watch a concert as it’s happening if you can’t actually be there.

Having enjoyed a few concerts via Periscope, I wanted to reciprocate. So when I was in the third row at a concert last October, I made sure the settings were set to save the video on my phone and filmed a little. (I also did some non-Periscope filming, just in case.) When RS came out into the audience during “Don’t Talk to Strangers” and “Human Touch” and was standing right in front of me, what was I doing? Trying to film it. But I couldn’t get the camera to work; I guess I was a little flustered. Fortunately I had informed my husband before the show that he was on “Don’t Talk to Strangers” and “Human Touch” filming duty and he took care of it. (Fortunately, because two of my sons got to sing with RS and my husband captured it on video).

After the concert, I couldn’t find the Periscope videos on my phone. It wasn’t until recently that I was downloading pictures and videos off my phone to my computer and found them in a different folder in the gallery. Whoo-hoo, unexpected concert footage!

And then I watched them.

Rather than try to explain why I may not Periscope from this weekend’s concert, I thought I’d share snippets from my Periscope videos:

Leave a Reply

