Watching QVC at 6 a.m. on a Sunday

Yes, I watched the home-shopping channel QVC at 6 a.m. last Sunday.

Why was I up so early watching demonstrations about indoor/outdoor reversible rugs, a steam cleaner (with three kids and a dog, I REALLY wanted that), a paw print wind chime, a Trolley Dolly On the Go Cart,  a sleep tracker wristband, travel pillows and a Dell laptop?

This is why:

20160403_070046

Yes, right before a demo about a steam iron, Rick Springfield played “Down,” one of his songs off his new CD “Rocket Science.” The song is the official new theme song for the “Sundays with Carolyn & Dan” show on QVC.

The reason I woke up early to watch it rather than record it is because we don’t watch much TV so we don’t have the DVR add-on and I didn’t want to miss it. So I recorded it with my phone instead (as a throwback to when I used to record songs off the radio with a tape recorder, I guess). Here it is, although there’s some weird clicking sound, I’m not sure what that is.

After the performance, he did a live chat and performance on Carolyn Gracie’s (the Carolyn of Carolyn & Dan) Facebook page. (I didn’t record this one, but I found it on YouTube.)

He mentions that he only got a couple hours of sleep the night before. Although he doesn’t mention why in this interview, there were reports on social media that the flight he was on the night before was diverted due to issues with the bathroom. But as if that wasn’t enough, there was reportedly a large group of preteen girls on the plane who recognized him and started singing a few rounds of “Jessie’s Girl.” Some of the girls got their pictures taken with him and on Twitter somebody posted a video clip of them singing “Jessie’s Girl” on the plane.

Awww, is that cute or what?

Leave a Reply

