I just love that friendship

The selfies that Doug Davidson shared on Twitter today are just so darn cute – he and his wife along with RS and his wife hanging out in Milan, Italy.

Knowing the background of their friendship (through “Late, Late at Night” and teen magazine interviews back in the day), it’s just so freakin’ cool that they are all still friends.

I’m not even sure if I can clearly explain it, but knowing that the Davidson family was RS’s American family back when he so desperately needed one and that they were friends before fame and through tumultuous times is so heartwarming. Plus, the video clips I’ve seen of the two of them together are hilarious.

And I have a little confession to make.

Back in those teen years, I kind of had a little crush on Doug Davidson, too. I watched “The Young and the Restless” long after I stopped following “General Hospital,” especially for the scenes with Paul Williams.

I’m sure I’m not the only RS fan who experienced this, right?  After all he’s cute and funny and seems like a nice guy. We were even “pen pals” for a few years (“pen pals” meaning that I would write fan letters and he’d kindly write back on “Young and the Restless” postcards.)

I still have all of the cards from him – eight, dating from 1984 to 1987. A couple of them were signed Christmas cards, but most of them were personalized (assuming that there wasn’t a Y&R intern who answered fan mail) notes. I wish I could remember what I wrote to him because the personalized notes always made some sort of reference to whatever it was I wrote. Apparently after I moved to California, I sent him the menu and business card of the restaurant I was working at and he said he’ll stop by if he is in the neighborhood. Ha! He never did. But I still think that he was incredibly kind to reply to fan mail. (Even if it turns out that it was an intern who typed them up, Doug signed them and drew little smiley faces.)

b6uwpnycmaeghwd

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

