A subconscious fix

Maybe it’s the combination of all the social media posts of people at Rick Springfield concerts – and meeting RS before or after the show – or maybe it’s some deep-rooted withdrawal symptom since I haven’t been to a RS concert since July, but I was able to get a subconscious fix last night.

If it’s true that people share dreams and visit each other’s dreams, RS’s dream schedule is as busy as his tour schedule because he makes appearances in many of his fans’ dreams.

Last night I showed up at a venue at the last minute and there he was walking by himself through the lobby. He looked like he was in a hurry, but  apparently I’m much bolder in my dreams than in real life because this time I approached him. (Not like the past spring where I saw him in the lobby of the hotel I was staying in and walked by him and his band, although I did so at the encouragement of my husband, as he’s not into the whole stalking thing.) He hesitantly stopped, but I got a hug. Then he went into another room and visited with some kids and then on his way out, there I was again and this time I got another hug and I FINALLY got a chance to ask him if he’s seen this  blog. He laughed and I got a longer hug, although in retrospect, he didn’t actually answer me. Then he  had to go start his show, which I didn’t have tickets to.

I found my older son, who was at the venue with me but hadn’t been with me in the lobby, and I told him I just met RS again. “Cool,” he said. Then I decided that even though the show would end after his bedtime, we’d go get tickets and stay for the concert anyway. But unfortunately it was too late – the box office was closed. So we stood outside and watched – RS was just a few rows in front of us, in the audience singing a song I hadn’t heard before (it sounded more like a show tune than one of his songs). We stood and watched and then the doors were closed.

My analysis: 1. I needed a Rick fix, so my brain gave me one to appease me. 2. I really want to be a part of the Bahamas fan trip, but the “doors are closed.” 3. I REALLY want to know whether or not he has read this blog.

Leave a Reply

