On the eve of the election

Tomorrow’s the big day – the culmination of this year’s crazy election season. Crazy isn’t even the right word  – tumultuous, disgusting, frustrating, embarrassing, maddening, tragic, maybe? THESE are our “leaders”?!?!

Anyway, Rick Springfield and friends have the right idea – get out of the country. He and his wife, along with his BFF Doug Davidson and his wife, are on their way to the Bahamas today for the fan getaway. (They posted an adorable pic of the four of them en route). And fans from around the world have already started to head there as well for the trip, which starts Thursday.

For those of us fans not physically heading to the Bahamas this week, we’re on our way mentally. Imagine a Rick Springfield concert with songs you’ve never heard live! And, wait a moment, did he just finish another concert without playing “Jessie’s Girl” and nobody seems to mind? (Not that I don’t still crank up the radio when I hear it, but there are so many other songs I’d like to hear him perform live.) And five days of chances for chance encounters? Wow.

I’m going through some serious withdrawals. Each time the fan club access sends out an email announcement of an upcoming show, there’s those few seconds of anticipation before clicking on the email to see if it’s announcing a concert that doesn’t require an overnight hotel stay or airfare. But nothing local for the past four months. (Has it only been four months? OK, maybe I’m a little premature in complaining.) I’ve enjoyed all the great concert photos and videos people have been posting, but sometimes I get a little carried away, especially if he’s looking into the camera. My first reaction is, “He’s looking at me!” (as I did back in 1983 from my seat in the 16th row looking through binoculars…) and then I remember that not only did I not take the picture, but I wasn’t even there. Darn it.

Do I feel silly having this little obsession in my 40s? Shouldn’t I be a grown-up and go watch some election coverage or something? No. I already mailed in my ballot so now all there is to do is wait for the results, an activity also filled with anticipation. But not the good kind.  Maybe I’ll just go rewatch that video somebody posted of RS singing Jimi Hendrix song “Foxy Lady” at the Nov. 6 show in Fort Myers, Florida. He ROCKED!

To those who are going to the Bahamas this week – wishing you safe travels and an AMAZING time (can you maybe sneak in an extra RS hug for me?)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

