On the Gen Z playlist

My oldest son recently started driving and he and his brothers have created a Spotify playlist of songs to listen to in the car.

The have a diverse taste in music, ranging from classic rock and ’90s grunge to Hip Hop and Rap. The other day I was in the car with them listening to their playlist and “Human Touch” started playing. Needless to say, I was thrilled! Then the other day they were playing the playlist at home on Alexa and “Love Somebody” came on. They also have “Jessie’s Girl” on the playlist. “They’re good songs, Mom!” one said when I expressed my excitement that RS made their playlist.

Since my sons have been exposed to RS music from an early age, it shouldn’t be surpising that some of his songs made the playlist, but I thought it was cool that they added them on their own. (Just for fun, here’s a post from when they were 4,6 and 8 in 2014, the year I started writing this blog: “Another generation of fans.”)

It’s certainly one cool benefit of RS having such a long career – it’s entirely possible that he could have three generations of fans in one family – three generations that could have possibly seen him perform in real-time energetic excellence since he’s toured off and on for so many decades.

Tonight wraps up his high-energy “I Want My 80s Tour,” which since Aug. 4 has included shows with The Hooters, Paul Young and Tommy Tutone (with his band playing with Paul Young and Tommy Tutone). For some tour talk, see this episode of “PopCity,” a YouTube show co-hosted by keyboardist Tim Gross’s wife: “Episode 5: Part 1: Rick Springfield’s keyboardist, Tim Gross talks about touring.”

Also on YouTube is a “What’s in My Bag?” segment of a series by Amoebe Music in Hollywood, where RS talks music, via album selections.

And back, to the tour. In case you missed it, here’s a video from a Los Angeles show last week, via YouTube (Thank you, DJ Gerry from Starlight Music.)

Leave a comment