Visiting Graceland

Although my last post was about how I’m reaching a milestone age this year – as is my favorite rock star – I was reminded today that age is only a number and it often doesn’t affect our thinking or actions (or even our reasoning, in some cases).

For instance, RS has said in interviews that he loves toys and although he’s said that lately he’s been selling some of his Star Wars toys, he probably has some items in his toy collection that he still treasures. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but when I was younger, I would have never imagined that somebody in their 60s would still enjoy toys.

But now I know that there are some things that you still like because you like them and it doesn’t matter what you age you are. For instance, how I can still have a crush on a rock star in my 40s.

So with that in mind, it may explain my reaction to seeing today’s picture of RS in front of Graceland.

Why was I so excited to see this photo? Because not only was it cool to see RS so happy, but I stood in that same exact spot before! Yes, about one year, nine months, two weeks and two days earlier, I stood in that same spot when I visited Graceland. I don’t have a picture of me in that spot because I was just in line behind other people, but I just looked at my photos from that visit and I do have a picture of the spot where RS would once stand (and where Elvis once walked many years ago):

graceland outside (2)

It’s kind of like that time he stood in the same spot in front of Independence Hall in Philadelphia three years, two months, one week and six days after I did. It’s just a little reminder that although I only get to see him in concert once every year or so, we are still inhabiting the same earth.

Not only that, but when I visited Graceland, I was inspired to stand in a similar pose at the entrance:

graceland sign

Should random things like this still bring joy to my world? Shouldn’t I be more mature than this by now and not be imagining connections that don’t exist? Possibly. But it sure is more fun to allow these little bursts of joy to exist when the opportunities arise!

So far I’ve only found one video of RS at Graceland to share so I’ll post it here to mark the occasion. (I’ll add more later if I see other videos posted.)

Update on Jan. 22.

Here’s a video of RS covering “Jailhouse Rock” the night before the Graceland show. So nice that fans share these great videos!

Update on Jan. 27:

Awesome video of RS playing “Jailhouse Rock” at Graceland. So cool!

Leave a comment