‘Automatic’ release day! First listen

Rick Springfield’s new album ‘Automatic’ is out! While you wait for the CD to come in the mail,you can listen now on mutliple streaming services. Of course I couldn’t wait so I listened to it on Spotify as soon as I could. First thing I noticed was that the songs aren’t in the same order as the album list so I skipped around so I could hear them in the same order.

  1. Exit Wound – First released on July 21. Super catchy. Love the background vocals by Windy Wagner.
  2. She Walks with the Angels – Beautiful and touching song about Matty Spindel, his longtime friend and studio engineer, previously released on June 16. First performed live in March 2023.
  3. Come Said the Girl – This one definitely has that high-energy 80s sound. Lots of horns. RS has said that this CD is about God, love, sex and death, and this definitely falls in the third category.
  4. Automatic – The song that came to RS in a dream, according to recent interviews with him. Released in June and performed live on Aug. 1 (in this video he mentions that they just made a video for this song! Whoo-hoo!) I’ve already heard the four previously released songs multiple times so not really a first impression for any of those.
  5. Broke House – a sad story about a woman from an abusive house who grows up to be in an abusive marriage. He really knows how to tell a powerful story in less than 2 1/2 minutes. Made me think of the serious topics addressed in his ’70s album “Beginnings” when his record label was expecting teen idol love songs.
  6. This Town – Another song with incredible lyrics. The first few lines made me wonder if it was referring to the pandemic. Full of nostalgia but also feels like a love song to his wife.
  7. When God Forgets My Name – An introspective song, reflecting on his life. Interesting vocal arrangement, looking forward to seeing the lyrics because I think I missed some of it.
  8. Heroes – Hey! Empowering, made me want to dance even though it’s only 5:30 a.m. Hey, hey, hey, yeah!
  9. Love Ain’t Cool (Sha Do Wup) – A catchy song released on July 21. One of my favorites. Has a “Venus on Overdrive” vibe.
  10. Works for Me – He sure knows how to tell a story!
  11. Fake It Til You Make It – Inspirational – ‘you got to dream’
  12. The Cure for Loneliness – Has a feel like the “Wait for Night” album.
  13. Invisible World – This song feels like a sweet poetic dream.
  14. Make Your Move – A video for this song was released about a year ago that he he said he wrote about a couple in trouble but it fit his feelings about the war in Ukraine. Windy Wagner has such a beautiful voice, wow.
  15. In Case of Fire Break Glass – So many interesting elements in this one. I’ve been trying to learn audio production so I can record my own songs so I especially enjoyed how he put all the elements together. It’s not easy to get everything to flow and sound so good so the fact that he did all the instruments for this whole album, is so, so impressive.
  16. Did I Just Say That Out Loud – A fun rock star story
  17. Someday I Will Fly – A reflective song with a cool vibe. Does it refer to death? It feels like it might.
  18. Neutron Star – Some cool sounds. Seems to be a commentary on social media and celebrity. Had to look up what a neutron star was – they are formed when a massive star runs out of fuel and collapses. Clever way to address the subject.
  19. Feed Your Soul – Encouraging words.
  20. We Are Eternal – Beautiful. This is the one dedicated to his longtime friend and former keyboard player from the ’80s Brett Tuggle. Touching but also hopeful.

Those were my thoughts as I gave “Automatic” a first listen. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve already heard them a few times, but my favorites are “Love Aint’ Cool,” “She Walks with Angels” and “Exit Wound.” From the ones I hadn’t heard before, I especially liked “This Town,” “Come Said the Girl,” “Invisible World” and “We Are Eternal.”

What are your favorite songs from the album? I look forwarding to listening again with the lyrics in hand once I get my CD because I’m sure I missed a lot. But feeling so lucky that my favorite rock star is still releasing great new music (and touring).

Speaking of decades of great music – Rowdy Ron announced that he’ll be having another All Rick Springfield radio show in honor of RS’s birthday. If you haven’t heard one before and want to hear hours of Rick Springfield music (with no repeated songs – concert and acoustic versions, remixes, rare songs, etc) definitely put it on your calendar! Sunday, Aug. 20 at 8 p.m. Eastern. His shows are amazing! Learn more here.

Also wanted to include one more great interview, out today on the American Songwriter website, which goes over more of the craft of the songwriting for “Automatic”: “Rick Springfield on Jackson Browne, EDM and Writing 20 Songs for New Album ‘Automatic.'”

2 thoughts on “‘Automatic’ release day! First listen

  1. Having listened to it twice now, I must say I love the whole album completely. It definitely is, again, different in style but shares his incredible songwriting talent. “She walks with the angels”, “Automatic”, “This town”, “The cure for loneliness”, “Invisible world”, “Make your move” and “We are eternal” (with that perfect ending 😉 are those which I loved even after one listening. But the other songs are fabulous as well. – Unfortunately, two people left very disparaging remarks on Amazon.com and Allmusic.com. We should balance those with our reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment