The character of Rick Springfield

Sideswiped smile

When I heard that Rick Springfield was going to play Rick Springfield who goes on a date with Rosanna Arquette’s character on the new YouTube original show “Sideswiped,” I wondered what the scenario would be. After all, as any of his fans know, he’s been married to his wife since 1984 and they have two grown sons. So why would he be on Tinder (or the celebrity version of Tinder, in the case of the show)? He better not be dissing his wife!

Then as soon as I watched it I realized that Rick Springfield wasn’t playing Rick Springfield who has been married since 1984, he was the Rick Springfield rock star character who has a 28-year-old ex-girlfriend and grandchildren. (As far as we know, RS is not a grandfather yet.) Just like the Rick Springfield in “Californication” was the narcissistic Rick Springfield character, not the rock star we all “know” and love.

Does he think of himself as Rick Springfield or Richard Springthorpe? Is “Rick Springfield” the rock star more of an on-stage persona? Many fans have said that in person he’s quieter/shyer than the rock star legend on stage (which makes him even more endearing, right?) How is he at home? All these things are NONE of my business of course, but I still wonder.

Anyway, I loved his character on “Sideswiped,” the vulnerable rock star that isn’t quite over his much younger ex-girlfriend. I enjoyed the character so much more than Dr. Irving Pitlor on “True Detective,” Lucifer on “Supernatural” or the demented Pastor Charles on “American Horror Story.”

I admit I only watched the fourth episode of “Sideswiped” so far, aptly titled “The Rock Star,” but I thought it looks like a cute show and plan to watch more. (Not the same with those other three shows mentioned above. I watch enough horror in the daily news that I don’t enjoy watching fictional horror.) The shows I’ve been watching lately are “Nashville,” which sadly ended this week, and “This is Us,” which will have its last season soon, too. I need to find another show soon so I have something to watch when I fold laundry. Any suggestions?

Leave a comment