First singles off of ‘Automatic’

Those who only associate Rick Springfield as the ’80s “Jessie’s Girl” singer may be surprised to know that he’s released more than 20 studio albums, with the newest one, “Automatic” to come out on Aug. 4.

The title track was released yesterday. Here’s “Automatic,” a techno-driven song reminiscent of the Tao album, but with the social commentary feeling of “Songs for the End of the World” and some “The Snake King” aspects.

It took me a few listens before it resonated with me. My first thought that it would sound great in a movie soundtrack, like a real hip social commentary type of movie. Next thought was that it’s going to sound great live because it has some powerful energy. When I dove into the lyrics, that’s when it hooked me. It all goes so well together – the lyrics, the singing, background vocals, the production.

The second song that was released yesterday is “She Walks with the Angels.”

This one hooked me right away. At first it was because I knew that it was inspired by the memory of Matty Spindel, which I thought was really moving. The sound of this one reminded me more of the “Venus in Overdrive” album, one of my favorites. Maybe a little “Working Class Dog,” too.

It’s a really beautiful song and, according to a news release, the song includes secret references about Matty. He mentioned in the released that he wrote it in feminine wording because Matty “was very in touch with that side of himself.” I can picture Matty smiling when hearing the song and it’s still hard to believe that he ‘s gone.

This line hit hard: “I said goodbye and then I waited in the hall.”

According to an article on ultimateclassicrock.com, RS played all the guitars and keyboards on the upcoming album himself.

I can’t wait to hear the rest of the songs!

In other “Automatic” news, it looks like he’ll be doing another TalkshopLive event on June 20 at 8 p.m. Eastern, promoting autographed copies of “Automatic” on CD and vinyl. More details here.

2 thoughts on “First singles off of ‘Automatic’

  1. I had the same reaction! Interesting info about „She walks with the angels“. I definitely love the spectrum these two singles tease about the album, and I hope some fans who just want easy power pop from Rick will appreciate that he is always branching out creatively, trying something different, while keeping his incredible gift for writing great lyrics and wonderful melodies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment