Rick the Tour Guide

RS Italy

With approximately 100 shows per year – including full band shows, solo acoustic shows and now symphony shows – Rick Springfield fans are used to going on tour with him. Some lucky fans see his shows in person multiple times a year and some of us follow the tour via videos posted on social media.

But this week, there’s been a different tour. RS is in Italy, with his wife and the band, and is sharing his travels as a tour guide, mainly on Instagram (instagram.com/rickspringfield). For instance, RS was checking out his hotel’s archaeological museum, which contains Roman ruins discovered while owner J. Paul Getty was trying to build a pool, according to our tour guide.

(I’m glad he didn’t steal the slab of Roman marble because I was watching the video with my 10-year-old and stealing an ancient Roman ruin would have set a bad example.)

We also got to see a birds-eye view of Rome and some cute pics of him and his wife enjoying their trip. His wife doesn’t seem to have aged at all either. Is there something in that Malibu water?

I wonder if his wife finds his tour guide tendencies as entertaining as his fans do?

He also shared a Facebook post about finally getting a Roman gladiator’s outfit that he really wanted as a kid but had to use cardboard covered in silver foil. It looks a little small for him, but it sounds like he fulfilled a childhood dream, so that’s OK. I’m glad it didn’t fall out of his unzipped backpack while on the second highest hill in Rome.

It’s fun to see him so excited about sharing historical tidbits. Wouldn’t this make a great show? RS the tour guide traveling around the world teaching history. Then he can also perform some shows so fans in other countries can see him perform in person.

Hey, I’d watch it.

2 thoughts on “Rick the Tour Guide

  1. This trip has been the best! I have been obsessed with Rome since I went there as a teen in 1982. I never wanted to leave. I get his excitement & I love it! I’m the same way about Egypt. I would totally watch his travel show! That would be so cool! 😄

    Like

Leave a comment