‘Automatic’ release scheduled for Aug. 4 (with song list)

As announced at a recent concert, Rick Springfield’s new CD will be coming out soon and will have 20 new songs!

It’s now listed on Amazon and ready for pre-order. It’s scheduled for an Aug. 4 release (aka my birthday week… what a great gift – thanks, RS!)

Here’s the “Automatic” description:

The album, described by Springfield, as 20 new songs stylistically somewhere between “Working Class Dog” and “Tao”. Sonically, the album sees Springfield returning to his first love of guitar-based power pop and keyboards, while lyrically featuring his favored subjects of love, sex and death. “My goal was solid three-minute tunes with the biggest hooks I could come up with.” As Springfield explains, “the album is called ‘Automatic’ because the songs just kind of came out on their own.”

“Automatic” editorial review on amazon.com

Here’s the song list:

  1. Exit Wound
  2. She Walks with the Angels (This one was debuted at a recent show and was performed with a video tribute to Matty Spindel playing in the background.)
  3. Come Said the Girl
  4. Automatic
  5. Broke House
  6. This Town
  7. When God Forgets My Name
  8. Heroes
  9. Love Ain’t Cool (Sha Do Wup)
  10. Works for Me
  11. Fake It Til You Make It
  12. The Cure for Loneliness
  13. Invisible World
  14. Make Your Move
  15. In Case of Fire Break Glass
  16. Did I Just Say That Out Loud
  17. Someday I Will Fly
  18. Neutron Star
  19. Feed Your Soul
  20. We Are Eternal

I can’t wait to hear what these songs are about!

2 thoughts on “‘Automatic’ release scheduled for Aug. 4 (with song list)

  1. Wow, I did not think this would be released so soon (after the “Springfield”-album). Fantastic! And a mix between WCD and (one of my favorites) TAO – absolutely wonderful! Thank you for bringing this to my attention!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment