Another legend gone: Tom Petty

There’s such collective sadness in our world today. Not only is there still the aftermath of earthquakes, hurricanes, floods and fires, there’s the horrifying news out of Las Vegas of the mass shooting at an outdoor concert, with 58 confirmed dead and more than 500 injured. Then on top of that, news that legendary rocker Tom Petty died at age 66.

Although I don’t know much about his personal life or never saw him perform live, he’s another one of those singers whose music I’ve always enjoyed and who has been part of the musical backdrop of my life. Thank you, Tom Petty, for the four decades of music. The song I found myself singing the most through the years was “Free Fallin’,” especially each time I passed a sign for Ventura Boulevard. Then there were those MTV videos that come to mind: “Don’t Come Around Here No More” and “You got Lucky.” But there were so many other songs: “I Won’t Back Down,” “Learning to Fly,” “American Girl,” “Mary Jane’s Last Dance,” “Into the Great Open” and “Runnin’ Down a Dream” are only a few I enjoyed through the years. Then there were also the Traveling Wilburys songs.

Hard to believe this video was from just last week, a week ago today.

Between this and the deaths of the attendees of last night’s concert in Las Vegas, it’s another reminder how precious life is and how none of us know how much time we have left. So let’s just be kind to each other and help one another when we can, OK?

Leave a comment