33 years since ‘Living in Oz’?!

Living in Oz

My bedroom door in 1983.

Hearing that today marks 33 years since “Living in Oz” was released made me feel really nostalgic. Thirty-three years?! That’s how old Rick Springfield was in 1983 when the album came out (the month before his 34th birthday). And when I say album, I mean an actual record album. And do you notice the cassette tape cover on the promotion poster?

And if he was 33 that year, that means I was 13. Thirteen!!! How can that be 33 years ago?! It’s still one of my favorite RS albums and “Souls” is one of my all-time favorite RS songs.

On the upside, who would have guessed that 33 years (33 YEARS!!!) after I taped this poster on my 13-year-old self’s bedroom door that I would be writing this blog post – nevermind the fact that none of us had ever heard of a blog at that time – 10 days after I saw that guy on the poster perform “Affair of the Heart” and “Human Touch” live during his summer bus tour (along with new music)? 

That’s pretty cool.

 

Leave a comment